Ask HR: Is There a Penalty for Employers Who Do Not Offer Pediatric Dental Coverage?
Ask HR: Is There a Penalty for Employers Who Do Not Offer Pediatric Dental Coverage?

Ask HR: Is There a Penalty for Employers Who Do Not Offer Pediatric Dental Coverage?

It's a busy time of year in the HR industry. Open enrollment starts in October for many employers, and the Affordable Care Act is raising questions for everyone.

That's where HR Support Center can help: they answer real questions from real HR professionals. Each week, we share a sample of one of these questions. Are you wondering how the Affordable Care Act might affect companies' obligation to provide pediatric dental coverage? Take a look at the question and answer below for more on that topic.

Question:

I just heard that starting January 1, 2016, there will be no employer mandate penalty for employers that do not offer pediatric dental coverage. Is that correct?

Answer from Jenny, HR Pro:

There is actually no employer mandate penalty for an employer that fails to offer pediatric dental coverage, and there never has been.

Under the employer mandate, companies with 50+ full time equivalent employees are required to offer a health plan with "Minimum Essential Coverage" and "Minimum Value" to avoid employer mandate penalties. Pediatric dental is not required for the plan to meet these standards.

The confusion comes in because the federal government requires carriers of individual and some small group plans to offer ten "Essential Health Benefits," including pediatric dental care. This requirement falls on insurance carriers, not on employers who purchase insurance from a carrier.

In sum, Minimum Essential Coverage (MEC) and Minimum Value (MV) standards are different from Essential Health Benefits (EHB) standards. To avoid employer mandate penalties, an employer need only offer a plan that meets Minimum Essential Coverage and Minimum Value requirements.

Over her 15 years of experience, Jenny has specialized in helping small to mid-sized businesses across a variety of industries reduce their risks and manage employee relationship issues. Jenny holds a Bachelors of Business Administration (BBA) degree in Human Resources Management from the University of Georgia and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) degree with a concentration in Human Resources Management from Georgia State University.

This Q&A content is taken straight from the experts at HR Support Center. Click here to learn more about HR Support Center and HR On-Demand; we’d also love the chance to explain in person.

Previous Ask HR Questions:
Can We Say That Being Bilingual Is a Job Requirement?
Can We Require Employees to Cover Tattoos?
What Should We Do If Our Employee Won't Sign a Written Warning?

More to Discover

DOL Final Overtime Rules: Quickstart Guide for Employers

DOL Final Overtime Rules: Quickstart Guide for Employers

On September 24, 2019, the Department of Labor issued its final overtime rule to increase the minimum salary threshold for executive, administrative and professional exemptions from $455 per week ($23,660 annually) to $684 per week ($35,568 annually). The new rule goes into effect January 1, 2020.As your organization considers how to prepare and comply, we’ve created this guide which outlines the new ruling, provides tips to manage impacted employees and offers a checklist of key details to follow to mitigate risk. Click below to instantly download the guide.

What are W-3 Forms? FAQs and Helpful Tips for 2020

What are W-3 Forms? FAQs and Helpful Tips for 2020

As a trusted HR & payroll provider, Paycor gets hundreds of questions about Form W-3 each year. To help HR professionals mitigate risk, our compliance experts answered the most frequently asked questions around Form W-3. What is a W-3 form? Technical answer: Form W-3 is used to total up all parts of Form W-2. Both forms are filed together and sent to Social Security Administration (SSA) every year. Form W-3 is also known as “Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements.”What employers really need to know: As an employer your responsibility is to review all W-2s for your workforce, summarize employee wages and tax information and then combine that data into one W-3 form. What’s the difference between Form W-2 and Form W-3? The difference...

Employer Breastfeeding Laws by State

Employer Breastfeeding Laws by State

Breastfeeding, ACA and FLSA When President Obama made the Affordable Care Act (ACA) the law of the land in 2010, new amendments to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) addressing breastfeeding in the workplace went into effect. The new guidelines require all employers in every state to provide reasonable break time for an employee to express breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child’s birth. States are Making Changes While the federal government laid the foundation, 32 states have built upon the basic law. Some states have clarified whether these breaks are paid or unpaid and some have extended how long breastfeeding mothers are protected by the law.Where does your state stand? Use the chart below to find out....

Case Study: Smuttynose Brewing Company

Case Study: Smuttynose Brewing Company

Compliance concerns and a desire to streamline their overall HR process led Smuttynose Brewing Company in Hampton, N.H., to find HR & payroll software that suited their needs. With employees scattered throughout the Northeast, Smuttynose needed an efficient way to collect hours worked and to ensure payroll tax compliance. “Paycor is a one stop shop with great customer service and that service does not stop after implementation. I consider Paycor to be a true partner. I am extremely satisfied that I made the switch to Paycor and believe that satisfaction will only grow stronger as our partnership has a chance to mature.” —Mia Jennings, Director of HR, Smuttynose Brewing Paycor’s HR, recruiting and onboarding solutions streamlined a...