Paid Sick Leave Laws By State
Paid Sick Leave Laws By State

Paid Sick Leave Laws By State

Everyone, at one time or another, has worked with that person who comes to work with a bad cold (We’re hopeful it wasn’t you). Not only is it annoying, it also jeopardizes the health of other employees. But have you ever stopped to think that maybe that co-worker came to work because they didn’t have enough paid sick time available and wouldn’t get paid for a missed day or two? Here’s a high-level overview of states’ paid sick leave laws for private sector employers. Keep in mind this list is not inclusive of every state’s laws; there are many more nuances to understand and comply with.

Alabama Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Alaska Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Arizona Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All  All   40 hours (employers with 15 or more employees) or 24 hours (employers with fewer than 15 employees).  One hour for every 30 hours worked.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Arkansas Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

California Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with one or more employees who work more than 30 days in a year in California.   Employees who work 30 or more days per year in California for the same employer.   24 hours or three days.  3 methods: (1)One hour/30 hours worked (max 24 hours used annually, 48 hours total accrued) OR (2) an accrual that results in at least 24 hours accrued by the 120th calendar day of employment, each calendar year or each 12-month period OR (3) provide 24 hours of sick leave they can use after their 120th day of employment. NOTE: If hours are frontloaded employees who work longer days get three full work days.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Berkeley, California Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers, regardless of location.   Employees who work at least two hours per calendar week in the City of Berkeley and are entitled to the state minimum wage or participate in a Welfare-to-Work Program.   48 hours (employers with 24 or fewer employees); employers with 25 or more employees may not cap usage.  One hour for every 30 hours worked capped at 72 hours (but no max annual usage) (48 hours accrual/usage cap if less than 24 employees).  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care. 

Emeryville, California Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers with employees working in the City of Emeryville.  Employees who work at least two hours per calendar week in the City of Emeryville and are entitled to the state minimum wage.   48 hours (employers with 55 or fewer employees) or 72 hours (employers with 56 or more employees).   One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 48 hours (employers with 55 or fewer employees); 72 hours (employers with 56 or more employees).   Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence against the employee; to aid or care for a service dog. 

Long Beach, California Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Hotel employers  Hotel employees   5 days.  5/12 of a day for each month worked for a total of 5 days per year.  Illness 

Los Angeles, California Paid Sick Leave Laws - Hotel Employees

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Hotel employers  Hotel employees   96 paid hours; 80 unpaid hours after paid leave is exhausted.   96/52 hours of paid time off for every week of employment; 80/52 hours of unpaid time off for every week of employment. Annual accrual cap is 96 hours of paid leave; 80 hours of unpaid leave.   Illness, vacation or personal necessities. Unpaid time off can be used for the employee’s or an immediate family member’s illness. 

Los Angeles, California Paid Sick Leave Laws - City Employees

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with employees working in the City of Los Angeles.  Employees who work at least two hours per week in the City of Los Angeles who qualify as an employee entitled to the state minimum wage.   72 hours.  One hour for every 30 hours worked up to 48 hours a year or provide entire 48 hours at once.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; if the employee is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. 

Oakland, California Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with employees working in the City of Oakland.  Employees who work at least two hours per week in the City of Oakland who qualify as an employee entitled to the state minimum wage.   72 hours. 40 hours if 9 or fewer employees. nbsp; One hour for every 30 hours worked. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours (employers with fewer than 10 employees); 72 hours (employers of 10 or more employees).  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care. 


San Diego, California Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with employees working in the City of San Diego.  Employees who work at least two hours per week in the City of San Diego, who work in Los Angeles for the same employer for 30 days or more within a year of starting work, and who qualify as an employee entitled to the state minimum wage or are Welfare-to-Work Program participants.   40 hours  One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 80 hours.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

San Francisco, California Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with employees working in the City or County of San Francisco.  Employees who work at least 56 hours in a calendar year within the City or County of San Francisco.   N/A  One hour for every 30 hours worked/capped at 72 hours (40 hours for employers with fewer than 10 employees).  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Santa Monica, California Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All  Employees who work at least two hours in a particular week in the City of Santa Monica and are entitled to the state minimum wage.   N/A  One hour for every 30 hours worked in Santa Monica. Accrual cap is 40 hours (employers with 25 or fewer employees); 72 hours (employers with 26 or more employees).   Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Colorado Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 50 or more employees in CT     Max 40 hours carry/use per year  One hour for every 40 hours worked up to 40 hours max per year.    

Washington, D.C. Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All  All   Seven days (employers with 100 or more employees); five days (employers with 25-99 employees); three days (employers with 24 or fewer employees)  One hour for every 37 hours worked (employers with 100 or more employees); one hour for every 43 hours worked (employers with 25-99 employees); one hour for every 87 hours worked (employers with 24 or fewer employees). Annual accrual cap is seven days (employers with 100 or more employees); five days (employers with 25-99 employees); three days (employers with 24 or fewer employees).  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Florida Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Georgia Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Hawaii Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Idaho Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Illinois Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Chicago Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with at least one covered employee and maintain a business facility in Cook County. and/or are subject to one or more of Chicago’s licensing requirements.   Employees who work at least two hours in Chicago in any particular two-week period and who work at least 80 hours in Chicago within any 120-day period.   Half of unused sick leave up to 20 hours (rounded up so no fractions). If FMLA eligible, employee may carry over an additional 40 hours just to use for FMLA leave.  One hour for every 40 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Cook County Illinois Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Potentially any employer with an employee working at least two hours within the geographic boundaries of Cook County BUT municipalities may opt-out.  Employees who work at least two hours in any particular two-week period and who work at least 80 hours in Cook County within any 120-day period.   Half of unused sick leave up to 20 hours (rounded up so no fractions) if FMLA eligible, employee may carry over an additional 40 just to use for FMLA leave.  One hour for every 40 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or family member’s health condition; need for diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Indiana Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Iowa Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Kansas Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Kentucky Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Louisiana Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Maine Paid Sick Leave Laws

Effective January 1, 2021

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Maine employers with 10 or more employees  All employees who work for covered employers accrue leave but aren’t eligible to take it until 120 consecutive days of employment   Still waiting on full rules   One hour for every 40 hours worked up to 40 hours max per year  Any 

Maryland Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 15 or more employees (unpaid if fewer than 15).  Employees who work at least 12 hours per week.   64 hours  One hour for every 30 hours worked up to 40 hours max per year OR employer can choose to award 40 hours at the beginning of the year  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.  

Montgomery County, Maryland Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All  Employees who work more than eight hours per week in Montgomery County.   80 hours  One hour for every 30 hours worked in Montgomery County. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 56 paid hours (employers with five or more employees) or 32 paid hours and 24 unpaid hours (employers with fewer than five employees).  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; birth or placement of a child for adoption or foster care; care for a newborn, newly adopted or newly placed child within one year of birth, adoption or placement.; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. 

Massachusetts Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers except (1) local governments (2) those with less than 11 employees may provide unpaid leave.  All.   40 hours  1hr/30hrs worked up to 40 hours. There is an alternative lump sum amount requiring 8 hours per month for 5 months if an employee works 37.5hrs or more per month (and there is a list decreasing depending on the average hours worked)  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; reasons related to domestic violence. 

Michigan Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 50 or more employees.  Employees who work at least 25 hours per week, who work at least 26 weeks per year for a job scheduled for at least 26 weeks, and whose primary work location is in Michigan.   40 hours  One hour for every 35 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; reasons related to domestic violence or sexual assault; exposure to communicable disease. 

Minnesota Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Duluth, Minnesota Paid Sick Leave Laws (eff. January 2020)


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Any employer within city limits who has 5 or more employees (even if some of those employees work outside the city.   Employees who work in Duluth.
 
40 hours  One hour for every 50 hours worked. Carryover/ accrual capped at 64 hours for the year.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Minneapolis, Minnesota Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with six or more employees must provide paid sick and safe time. Employers with five or fewer employees must provide sick and safe time, but they may choose to provide it unpaid.  All covered employees, including employees of “non-resident” employers, are entitled to accrued sick and safe time. Employees need to work a total of 80 hours in the year before they are covered.   80  Sick and safe time accrues at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. An employer may cap an employee's accrual at 48 hours per year. An employer may also limit the total amount of unused sick and safe time in an employee’s “bank” to 80 hours during subsequent years. These two limits, 48 hours per benefit year and a maximum accrual cap of 80 hours, operate simultaneously. These limits may be higher if an employer chooses, but not lower.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; unexpected school or daycare closure; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

St. Paul, Minnesota Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Virtually all employers who have an employee working 80hrs or more per year in St. Paul.  Employees who work at least 80 hours a year within St. Paul.   48 hours  One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 48 hours.   Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; maternity or paternity leave; unexpected school or daycare closure; reasons related to domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. 

Mississippi Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Missouri Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Nebraska Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Nevada Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 50 or more employees.   All   40 hours or frontload 40 hours.  At least 0.01923 hours of leave per hour worked capped at 40 hours used/accrued annually.  Any 

New Hampshire Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers with workers in the state.  All employees working for an employer in the state.
 
40 hours   One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; school conference; meeting regarding a child's health or disability; reasons related to domestic or sexual violence. 

New Mexico Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

New York Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

New York City, New York Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with five or more employees (unpaid if fewer than five) or one or more domestic workers.   Employees and domestic workers who work more than 80 hours a year in New York City. Domestic workers must also work for the same employer for one year.
 
40 hours; two days for domestic workers.   One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.   Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to family offense matters, sexual offenses, stalking or human trafficking. 

Westchester County, New York Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with five or more employees (unpaid if fewer than five) or one or more domestic workers.  Employees and domestic workers who work more than 80 hours a year in Westchester County.
 
40 hours; two days for domestic workers.   One hour for every 30 hours worked. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; exposure to communicable disease. 

North Carolina Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

North Dakota Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Oklahoma Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Oregon Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 10 or more employees (unpaid if fewer than 10) or employers in large cities (500,000+ population) with six or more employees anywhere in the state (unpaid if fewer than six).  All employees.
 
40 hours  One hour for every 30 hours worked or one and one-third hour for every 40 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; to care for an infant or newly adopted child or newly placed foster child; employee’s or family member’s serious health condition; to care for a child who does not have a serious health condition, but needs home care; reasons related to domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking; bereavement; donation to co-worker if allowed by employer. 

Pennsylvania Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 10 or more employees must provide paid sick leave.  Employees who work at least 40 hours a year in Philadelphia.
 
40 hours  One hour for every 40 hours worked. Annual accrual cap is 40 hours.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to stalking, domestic or sexual violence. 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers doing business in Pittsburgh covered, those with less than 15 employees may provide unpaid leave for the first year  Employees working 35 hours or more inside the city
 
40 hours for employers with 15 or more employees; 24 hours for those with fewer than 15 employees  One hour for every 35 hours worked capped at 40 hours if more than 15 employees and 24 hours if fewer than 15 employees  Employee’s or family member’s mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; need for medical diagnosis or treatment of illness, injury or health condition 

Rhode Island Paid Sick Leave Laws


Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Employers with 18 or more employees.  Full-time, part-time, seasonal and temporary employees.  40 hours  40 hours  Employees can use the paid sick time for an employee’s or family member’s illness, injury, or health condition; when the employee’s workplace or a child’s school is closed due to public health emergency; and for reasons relating to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.  

South Carolina Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

South Dakota Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Tennessee Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Texas Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Austin, Texas Paid Sick Leave Laws*

*(eff. October 1, 2018; for employers with five or fewer employees, October 1, 2020. Temporarily blocked by state court of appeals. Awaiting decision on whether the ordinance is pre-empted by state minimum wage act.)

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers.  Employees who work at least 80 hours in a calendar year in Austin.   8 days per calendar year.   One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 64 hours (for employers with 16 or more employees); 48 hours (for employers with 15 or fewer employees).  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to stalking, domestic or sexual violence. 

Dallas, Texas Paid Sick Leave Laws

eff. August 1, 2019; for employers with five or fewer employees, August 1, 2021)

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers.  Employees who work at least 80 hours in a calendar year in Dallas.   8 days per calendar year.  One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 64 hours (for employers with 16 or more employees); 48 hours (for employers with 15 or fewer employees).  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to stalking, domestic or sexual violence. 

San Antonio, Texas Paid Sick Leave Laws

(eff. August 1, 2019; for employers with five or fewer employees, August 1, 2021)

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers.  Employees who work at least 80 hours in a calendar year in San Antonio.   8 days per calendar year.  One hour for every 30 hours worked. Frontloading is permitted. Annual accrual cap is 64 hours (for employers with 16 or more employees); 48 hours (for employers with 15 or fewer employees).  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to stalking, domestic or sexual violence. 

Utah Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Vermont Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers doing business in Vermont   Employees who work for an average of no less than 18 hours per week during a year.   40 hours  One hour for every 52 hours worked. .  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; to accompany a family member to an appointment related to long-term care; reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking; when a family member’s school or business is closed for public health or safety reasons. 

Virginia Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Washington Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers.  All employees.   N/A   One hour for every 40 hours worked. No annual accrual.   Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking. 

SeaTac Airport, Washington Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
Certain hospitality and transportation industry employers.  Nonmanagerial, nonsupervisory employees.   N/A   One hour for every 40 hours worked. No annual accrual.   Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking. 

Seattle, Washington Paid Sick Leave

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers  All employees who work in Seattle. Employees who work on an occasional basis in Seattle must work more than 240 hours in Seattle in a year.   N/A   Under 49 employees: 40 hours carryover; 50-249 employees: 56 hours carryover; 250 or more employees: Carryover 72 hours per year (108 for employers with PTO)   Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking. 

Tacoma, Washington Paid Sick Leave Laws

Covered Employers  Covered Employees  Max Usage Per Year  Accrual  Qualifying Reasons 
All employers  Employees who work more than 80 hours in Tacoma in a year.   N/A   One hour for every 40 hours worked/ Employees may carryover a maximum of 40 hours into the next year.  Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking; bereavement.  

West Virginia Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Wisconsin Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Wyoming Paid Sick Leave Laws

No state sick leave laws.

Paycor Can Help

We’re proud to keep more than 30,000 organizations informed and compliant with federal, state and local laws and regulations. Since 1990, Paycor has maintained a core expertise in payroll and compliance. We established our compliance expertise in the Cincinnati tri-state area, one of the most complex tax jurisdictions in the country. If you’re looking for a trusted provider to help you manage the complexities of payroll tax, look no further than Paycor.

Contact Paycor

More to Discover

What are Supplemental Unemployment Benefits?

What are Supplemental Unemployment Benefits?

Reductions in force are unavoidable in economic downturns, but are traditional severance packages the way to go? They can be a big hit to your company’s cash flow and are subject to payroll taxes. The tax-friendlier option, Supplement Unemployment Benefits plans (SUBS), can spread out costs and deliver the same value for the employee, too. How Do Supplemental Unemployment Benefits Plans Work? SUBs got popular in the ‘50s as a way to help workers in industries with cyclical employment patterns get a more steady income. SUBs were often fought for in collective bargaining agreements. They’re growing in popularity again across industries. Under a SUB plan, in the event of a Reduction in Force (RIF) or temporary unemployment due to training,...

Take Our HR Benchmarking Quizzes

Take Our HR Benchmarking Quizzes

Paycor's research shows that 75% of high-functioning HR teams spend their time on mastering key pillars of HR excellence. Want to know how your team stacks up against others? Take our benchmarking quizzes to find out and get customized action plans based on your results. Recruiting Benchmark Quiz Benefits Benchmark Quiz Labor Costs Benchmark Quiz People Management Benchmark Quiz Compliance Benchmark Quiz

Remote Work Policy - Information Security Template

Remote Work Policy - Information Security Template

To make remote work successful, HR needs to think through risk mitigation policies, especially if it’s new to your organization. One of the biggest issues to consider is information security. It’s important that your remote workers know what to do in case of a security breach or data loss. Download Remote Work Information Security Policy Template Why Information Security is Important for a Virtual Workforce Protecting your company’s data (and the data of your clients) is hard enough when everyone’s working in the same office. It gets more difficult in a distributed, virtual environment. When an employee is offered the opportunity to work remotely, you may want them to sign an initial work from home agreement covering the general...

COVID-19 ADA Requirements

COVID-19 ADA Requirements

UPDATE JUNE 22: Updated EEOC guidance states that “requiring antibody testing before allowing employees to re-enter the workplace is not allowed under the ADA”. What is the ADA? The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a federal law that provides protection to disabled workers. The ADA prohibits employers from discriminating against employees on the basis of a physical or mental disability. This legislation applies to any business with at least 15 employees and prohibits discrimination against those with disabilities in all aspects of employment. How does the Coronavirus pandemic impact ADA compliance? Short answer, we don’t know yet. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): The Basics The ADA broadly prohibits discrimination in...