Ask HR: Can Employees Shorten Their Lunch Breaks?
Ask HR: Can Employees Shorten Their Lunch Breaks?

Ask HR: Can Employees Shorten Their Lunch Breaks?

It seems like an age-old question: can employees decide what to do with their own lunch breaks? Are lunch breaks ever required? What are the laws around employee lunch breaks? What rights do employees have to determine their own? Does it matter whether the employee is hourly or salaried?

HR Support Center advisors answer real questions like this every day from real HR professionals. Each week, we share a sample of one of these questions. We hope the Q&A below will help clear up some of the confusion around lunch breaks.

Question:

One of our full-time, non-exempt employees who works in our Massachusetts office asked if she could take a 30-minute lunch break instead of the complete hour, while still working until her scheduled time of 5:00 pm. Is this possible?

Answer from Jessica, HR Pro:

As long as you are allowing your employees the minimum meal period required by the state, you can decide whether to allow this employee to shorten her meal time. Massachusetts, like many states that require meal breaks, has a 30-minute minimum requirement for the meal time.

Keep in mind that shortening her lunch break without adjusting the beginning or ending time of her shift may cause her to regularly work overtime. Many employers will allow employees to shorten their meal periods, but adjust their arrival or departure time so that the total work time stays the same. Employers who need coverage at both ends of an employee’s shift, however, may decide to require the hour-long lunch break even if it is not the employee’s preference.

Whichever way you decide, you should be consistent. If you allow a shortened meal period for this employee, it is best to allow it for employees in similar roles. The same goes for allowing or not allowing regular overtime hours.

Jessica, HR Pro *Jessica holds a Bachelor’s of Science (BS) in Communication and a Professional Certificate in Human Resources Management. She is active in many Human Resources organizations and regularly attends continuing education courses to stay abreast of changes that affect the workplace.*


This Q&A content is taken straight from the experts at HR Support Center. Click here to learn more about HR Support Center and HR On-Demand; we’d also love the chance to explain in person.

Previous Ask HR Articles:

Is There a Penalty for Employers Who Do Not Offer Pediatric Dental Coverage?
Can We Say That Being Bilingual Is a Requirement?
Can We Require Employees to Cover Tattoos?

More to Discover

DOL Final Overtime Rules: Quickstart Guide for Employers

DOL Final Overtime Rules: Quickstart Guide for Employers

On September 24, 2019, the Department of Labor issued its final overtime rule to increase the minimum salary threshold for executive, administrative and professional exemptions from $455 per week ($23,660 annually) to $684 per week ($35,568 annually). The new rule goes into effect January 1, 2020.As your organization considers how to prepare and comply, we’ve created this guide which outlines the new ruling, provides tips to manage impacted employees and offers a checklist of key details to follow to mitigate risk. Click below to instantly download the guide.

Active Shooter Policy: What Employers Need to Know in 2020

Active Shooter Policy: What Employers Need to Know in 2020

Always Be Prepared for Emergency Situations in the Workplace It’s a sad reality that many people have a looming fear of active shooters in the workplace. Unfortunately, their fears aren’t misguided. According to the FBI, 60% of active shooter incidents occur in businesses. However, as an employer there are actionable steps you can take to prevent an active shooting, ease employee concerns and protect your people. Step 1: Form a Planning Team It’s important that your planning team has representation from departments across the business, as well as first responders. In the same breath, the planning team should be small enough to encourage close collaboration, yet large enough that it doesn’t put the burden on any one person. The planning...

What are W-3 Forms? FAQs and Helpful Tips for 2020

What are W-3 Forms? FAQs and Helpful Tips for 2020

As a trusted HR & payroll provider, Paycor gets hundreds of questions about Form W-3 each year. To help HR professionals mitigate risk, our compliance experts answered the most frequently asked questions around Form W-3. What is a W-3 form? Technical answer: Form W-3 is used to total up all parts of Form W-2. Both forms are filed together and sent to Social Security Administration (SSA) every year. Form W-3 is also known as “Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements.”What employers really need to know: As an employer your responsibility is to review all W-2s for your workforce, summarize employee wages and tax information and then combine that data into one W-3 form. What’s the difference between Form W-2 and Form W-3? The difference...

Employer Breastfeeding Laws by State

Employer Breastfeeding Laws by State

Breastfeeding, ACA and FLSA When President Obama made the Affordable Care Act (ACA) the law of the land in 2010, new amendments to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) addressing breastfeeding in the workplace went into effect. The new guidelines require all employers in every state to provide reasonable break time for an employee to express breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child’s birth. States are Making Changes While the federal government laid the foundation, 32 states have built upon the basic law. Some states have clarified whether these breaks are paid or unpaid and some have extended how long breastfeeding mothers are protected by the law.Where does your state stand? Use the chart below to find out....