Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees by State 2020
tipped minimum wages for employees

Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees by State 2020

If employees regularly receive tips, complying with minimum wage regulations can be a complicated business—especially when calculating overtime. The reality is, the rules can be very different based on where you are in the country. If you’re running payroll for restaurants or hospitality you need to be informed of tipped minimum wage laws wherever you are.

What is a Tipped Employee?

In federal law, a tipped worker is anyone who regularly receives at least $30 per month in tips. However, Arkansas, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Kansas, Kentucky, North Carolina and Texas set a lower requirements of $20 per month. Three states have a minimum higher than federal standards: South Dakota at $35, Vermont at $120 and Connecticut with minimum or $10 weekly (or $2 daily) for hotels and restaurants.

Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee have no state laws regarding minimum wage for tipped employees.

How Do Different States Calculate Tipped Minimum Wage?

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount an employee can earn per hour. This is comprised of a basic cash wage (which must be paid by an employer) plus a tip credit (which an employer can claim). Federal law sets the minimum basic cash wage at $2.13 per hour, but many states mandate a higher level. In some states, employers must pay tipped employees the full state minimum wage before tips.

To help your organization stay aware of the latest labor law, Paycor has created a breakdown of tipped minimum wage requirements by state for 2020.

State  Minimum Cash Wage  Maximum Tip Credit  Tipped Minimum Wage (Total) 
Federal  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Alabama  $2.13 
Alaska  $10.19  $10.19 
Arizona  $9.00  $3.00  $12.00 
Arkansas  $2.63  $7.37  $10.00 
California1  $13.00 $13.00 
Colorado  $8.98  $3.02  $12.00 
Connecticut2  $6.38  $4.62  $11.00 
Delaware  $2.23  $7.02  $9.25 
Florida  $5.54  $3.02  $8.56 
Georgia  $2.13 
Hawaii3  $9.35  $0.75  $10.10 
Idaho  $3.35  $3.90   $7.25 
Illinois  $6.00  $4.00   $10.00 
Indiana  $2.13  $5.12   $7.25 
Iowa  $4.35   $2.90  $7.25 
Kansas  $2.13   $5.12  $7.25 
Kentucky  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Louisiana  $2.13  
Maine  $6.00  $6.00  $12.00 
Maryland  $3.63  $7.37  $11.00 
Massachusetts  $4.95  $7.80   $12.75 
Michigan  $3.67  $5.98  $9.65 
Minnesota4  $10.00  $10.00 
Mississippi  $2.13 
Missouri  $4.73  $4.72  $9.45 
Montana5  $8.65  $8.65 
Nebraska5  $2.12  $5.12  $7.25 
Nevada6  $8.25  $8.25 
New Hampshire  $3.26  $3.99  $7.25 
New Jersey  $3.13  $7.87  $11.00 
New Mexico  $2.35  $6.65  $9.00 
New York7  $7.85  $3.95  $11.80 
North Carolina  $2.13  $5.12   $7.25 
North Dakota  $4.86  $2.39   $7.25 
Ohio8  $4.35  $4.35   $8.70 
Oklahoma9  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Oregon  $11.25  $11.25 
Pennsylvania  $2.83  $4.42  $7.25 
Rhode Island  $3.89  $6.61  $10.50 
South Carolina  $2.13 
South Dakota  $4.65  $4.65  $9.30 
Tennessee  $2.13 
Texas  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Utah  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Vermont  $5.46  $5.46  $10.96 
Virginia  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Washington  $13.50  $13.50 
West Virginia10  $2.13  $5.12  $7.25 
Wisconsin  $2.33  $4.92  $7.25 
Wyoming  $2.62  $6.13  $8.75 

¹ Small businesses (with fewer than 26 employees) have a lower rate of $12 per hour. For local minimum wage regulations, read our guide to California Minimum Wage
² Hotels and restaurants only. Bartenders have a higher minimum cash wage ($6.38) and so a lower tip credit ($2.77)
³ Tip Credit only applicable if the combined amount an employee receives from the employer and tips is at least $7.00 more than the minimum wage.
⁴ $8.15 for small employers (with gross revenue of less than $500,000)
⁵ $4.00 for businesses not covered by FLSA with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less ⁶ Minimum wage is $7.25 if employees receive health insurance benefits
⁷ For tipped food service workers. For tipped service employees, the basic cash wage is $9.85 and maximum tip credit $1.95
⁸ Applies only to employers with gross sales of $305,000 or higher
⁹ Basic cash wage is $2.00 for employers with gross annual sales of $100,000 or less and fewer than 10 full time employees at any one location
¹⁰ State minimum wage only applies to state agencies and private companies with 6+ employees

Paycor is not a legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor. All communication from Paycor should be confirmed by your company’s legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor before making any decisions.

How Paycor Helps

Paycor can help you stay compliant, wherever you are. Our intuitive and easy-to-use payroll software makes inaccuracies easy to catch and the entire process as effortless as possible.

To learn more about how Paycor can help you stay compliant, save time and make better business decisions, talk to a member of our team.

Contact Paycor

More to Discover

Webinar: Prevent Harassment, Bullying, & Aggression at Work - 4/1 @11AM ET

Webinar: Prevent Harassment, Bullying, & Aggression at Work - 4/1 @11AM ET

Harassment, bullying, aggression and other bad behaviors occur when the culture facilitates the opportunity for them to occur. Further, these issues are rarely just about a perpetrator and target - more often they are an organizational problem. As a result, organizations often turn to training for education, but if the organization doesn't support behavior change, the training is essentially moot. Join Catherine Mattice Zundel as she provides insight into these behaviors and shares some case studies from her 10+ years of experience working as a consultant who specializes in solving toxic workplace behaviors.Through case studies from Catherine’s work, attendees will gain: An easy model to explain bad behaviors as a social phenomenon...

Webinar: 10 Steps to Safeguard Your Business for 2021 - 3/9 @2PM ET

Webinar: 10 Steps to Safeguard Your Business for 2021 - 3/9 @2PM ET

Although uncertainty has become the norm for our culture during the pandemic, it has not become any easier to manage through. Fortunately, there are solutions available and support for HR leaders so you do not have to go it alone. In this session, learn the 10 steps you can take now to safeguard your business. Prepare your workplace in advance of potential workplace outbreaks, employee sickness, employment shifts and the changing dynamic of workforce culture.Speaker: Amy Letke Amy is the Founder of Integrity HR, Inc. Amy provides workplace solutions to improve performance, reduce liability and increase profits. She is passionate about helping other entrepreneurs and business owners achieve success.Tuesday, March 9 2PM ET

Webinar: March 2021 Summit - How Much Is Too Much Information? Compliance of Performance Reviews

Webinar: March 2021 Summit - How Much Is Too Much Information? Compliance of Performance Reviews

This session is eligible for HRCI and SHRM credit.All leaders are responsible for managing the performance of their employees. When employees are working hard and results are positive, it’s important to recognize their contributions and appreciated their efforts. But when an employee’s performance is below expectations—or their behavior in the workplace is unacceptable—a supervisor or manager must act swiftly to correct the situation. This includes communicating with the employee so they’re aware of the problem, a plan to get back on track and potential disciplinary actions or termination. For many in attendance, this may be one of the hardest things they’ll ever do. Join Paycor and employment attorney Julie Pugh as we deep dive into the...

I-9 Compliance FAQs: Everything You Need to Know for 2021

I-9 Compliance FAQs: Everything You Need to Know for 2021

Is your company sitting on a massive liability? That was the question immigration attorney Bruce Buchanan posed in his recent Paycor webinar on Form I-9 compliance. Bruce, who is co-author of the I-9 and E-Verify Handbook, gave attendees great insights into the risks facing employers who don’t pay enough attention to their employment eligibility verification obligations. If you think this might mean you, don’t panic. Bruce explained what best practice looks like for businesses as well as listing the most common Form I-9 errors and how to correct them.For those who don’t have 60 minutes to view the full webinar, we’ve put together these FAQs covering all everything business need to know about I-9 compliance in 2021. When Were I-9s First...