Lunch Break Laws By State
Lunch Break Laws By State

Lunch Break Laws By State

Lunch Breaks Aren’t Always a Requirement for Employers

Most employers provide their employees with a paid or unpaid lunch break and some provide additional rest break periods. But did you know that breaks aren’t required by law? Federal law, anyway. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the law that governs wages and hours, does not mandate that employers provide meal or rest breaks to employees. Like many other federal laws in the human resources space, some states have stepped in to bridge the gap.

Here's What You Need to Know

The federal law dictates that if an employee gets meal or rest breaks, the company does not have to pay them for that time unless:

  • State law requires paid breaks
  • The employee works through a break time (e.g., if they eat while working)
  • The break lasts 20 minutes or less

Does Your State Require Lunch Breaks?

To help employers, we’ve created a chart and table explaining lunch break laws in every state. Watch out: some states’ laws apply only to employees who are minors. Check states’ laws for additional provisions and exemptions. All hours worked must be consecutive.
lunch break laws united states map

State  Covered Employees  Duration 
Alabama  14- and 15-year-old employees who work more than 5 hours  At least 30 minutes 
Alaska  Under 18 scheduled to work for 5 consecutive hours without a break  At least 30 minutess 
Arizona  N/A  N/A 
Arkansas  Minors in the entertainment industry who work for at least 5 ½ hours They also must have at least a 12-hour break between work day   30 to 60 minutes 
California  All employees who work more than 5 hours a day

*Does not apply if the workday is only 6 hours or if waived by mutual consent. A second meal period is required after 10 hours but may be waived if work day isn’t longer than 12 hours and first meal period isn’t waived. (For more details, read our guide to California Compliance)
Employees who work for 3 ½ hours or more get one paid rest break for every 4-hour period worked 
At least 30 minutes





At least 10 minutes  
Colorado  Employees covered by Colorado’s Minimum Wage Order who work 5+ hours

Paid rest break for every 4 hours worked  
At least 30 minutes

At least 10 minutes  
Connecticut  Employees who work at least 7½ hours  At least 30 minutes 
District of Columbia  N/A  N/A 
Delaware  Employees who work at least 7 ½ hours
Employees under 18 scheduled to work 5 hours  
At least 30 minutes
At least 30 minutes 
Florida  Employees under 18 who work at least 4 hours   At least 30 minutes 
Georgia  N/A  N/A  
Hawaii  14- and 15-year-old employees who work 5+ hours  At least 30 minutes 
Idaho  N/A  N/A 
Illinois  Employees who work 7 ½ hours or longer
Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours  
At least 20 minutes
At least 30 minutes 
Indiana  Employees under 18 who work 6+ hours  1-2 breaks totaling 30 minutes 
Iowa  Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours   At least 30 minutes 
Kansas  If the meal break is under 30 minutes, the employer must pay the employee  At least 30 minutes if unpaid 
Kentucky  Employees who work 4+ hours
Employees who work 5+ hours  
Rest break of at least 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked
Meal break of at least 30 minutes  
Louisiana  Employees under 18 who work 5 hours  At least 30 minutes unpaid 
Maine  Employees who work 6+ hours   At least 30 minutes 
Maryland  Certain retail employees



Employees under 18 who work 5 consecutive hours 
15 minutes for a shift of 4-6 hours

30 minutes for a shift of more 6+ hours

30 minutes for 8+ with an additional 15 minutes for every additional 4 working hours

At least 30 minutes  
Massachusetts  Employees who work 6+ hours   At least 30 minutes  
Michigan  Employees under 18 who work 5+ hours   At least 30 minutes  
Minnesota  Employees who work 4+ hours
Employees who work 8+ hours 
Must be enough time to use the nearest restroom
Enough time to eat a meal 
Mississippi  N/A  N/A 
Missouri  Coal miners


Employees under 16


Employees in the entertainment industry 
At least 1 hour



30-60 minute lunch periods after 5 1/2 hours of work

15-minute rest breaks for every 2 hours of work 
Montana  N/A  N/A 
Nebraska  Employees of an assembling plant, workshop or mechanical establishment   At least 30 minutes per 8-hour shift 
Nevada  Employees working 8+ hours
Employees who work 3 ½+ hours 
At least 30 minutes
At least a 10-minute rest break 
New Hampshire  Employees who work 5+ hours   At least 30 minutes 
New Jersey  Employees under 18 who work 5+ hours  At least 30 minutes  
New Mexico  Employees are not entitled to meal or rest breaks. If employers permit, rest breaks under 20 minutes must be paid. Meal breaks of 30+ minutes can be unpaid.   >20 minutes – rest breaks 30+ minutes – meal breaks  
New York  Every person employed or in connection with a factory shall be allowed at least 60 minutes for the noonday meal.
Every person employed or in connection with a mercantile or other establishment or occupation under the provisions of this chapter shall be allowed at least 30 minutes for the noonday meal.
An employee who works a shift of more than 6 hours which extended over that period shall be entitled to at least 30 minutes off during that time; every person employed for a period or shift starting before 11am and continuing later than 7pm shall be entitled to an additional meal period of at least 20 minutes between 5pm and 7pm. Every person employed more than 6 hours starting between the hours of 1pm and 6am shall be allowed at least 60 minutes for a meal period when employed in or in connection with a factory; 45 minutes for a mercantile establishment.  
At least 60 minutes
At least 30 minutes  
North Carolina  Employees under 16 who work shifts of 5+ hours  At least 30 minutes 
North Dakota  Employees who work 5+ hours  At least 30 minutes 
Ohio  Employees under 18 for every 5 hours worked  At least 30 minutes 
Oklahoma  Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours
Employees under 16 who work 8+ hours  
At least 30 minutes
At least 30 minutes 
Oregon  Employees for every 4 hours or greater part of 4 hours (beginning at 2 hours 1 minute) worked

Employees who have worked for 6+ hours  
At least 10 minutes for each rest break for adults

At least 15 minutes for each rest break for employees under 18

At least 30 minutes  
Pennsylvania  Seasonal farm workers for every 5 hours worked

Minors under 18 for every 5 hours worked  
At least 30 minutes  
Rhode Island  Employees who work 6+ hours  20 minutes for employees who work 6 hours

30 minutes for employees who work 8 hours  
South Carolina  N/A  N/A 
South Dakota  N/A  N/A 
Tennessee  Employees who work 6+ hours   At least 30 minutes 
Texas  N/A  N/A 
Utah  Employees under 18 for every 5 hours worked

Employees under 18 for every 3 hours or part thereof worked  
At least 30 minutes

At least 10 minutes for each rest break. 
Vermont  Employers must provide a “reasonable opportunity” to eat and use the restroom. This opportunity must be paid if it is less than 30 minutes  N/A  
Virginia  Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours   At least 30 minutes  
Washington  Employees ages 14 and 15 for every 2 hours worked.
Employees ages 14 and 15 for every 4 hours worked
Employees ages 16 and 17 who work 5+ hours
Employees ages 16 and 17 get a rest break for every 4 hours worked
Employees are entitled to a meal break
Employees working 3+ longer than a normal work day get an additional meal break
Employees who work 4+ hours get a paid rest break.  
At least 10 minutes
At least 2 hours
At least 30 minutes
At least 10 minutes


At least 30 minutes
At least 30 minutes
At least 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked  
West Virginia  Employees who work 6+ hours get a meal break At least 20 minutes  
Wisconsin  Adult employees are not entitled to meal breaks, but the Wisconsin Administrative Code recommends that employers provide such breaks.

Employees under 18 for every 6 hours worked 
At least 30 minutes. 
Wyoming  N/A  N/A 


Paycor is not a legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor. All communication from Paycor should be confirmed by your company’s legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor before making any decisions.


Paycor guided hr software tour

More to Discover

Employee Safety During COVID-19: Compliance Toolkit

Employee Safety During COVID-19: Compliance Toolkit

Vaccines are coming to the rescue, but we’re not out of the woods yet. HR leaders can’t afford to take their eye off the ball when it comes to employee safety and compliance. Now’s the time to think about creating a vaccine policy that works for your organization, and it’s not too late to implement workplace testing. If an employee does test positive for COVID-19, you’ll want to make sure you’re ready to offer the right information and support to your whole team. Paycor is offering this free compliance toolkit, including customizable letter templates to use when you: Create a mandatory vaccine policy Implement workplace testing Inform your team that an employee has tested positive for COVID-19

Demotion Letter Template

Demotion Letter Template

There’s nothing better than seeing employees thrive, but setbacks and slips in performance do happen. One way to address performance problems is a demotion. Sometimes, it’s necessary to take a step back before you can take two steps forward. Download Demotion Letter Template When is a Demotion Necessary? In an ideal world, there wouldn’t be demotions. They are a sign something’s wrong: it could be that an employee has failed to respond to a performance improvement plan or they could just be disengaged. A demotion is the last stop before termination. If you believe the person has potential and is worth investing in, then a demotion might be the best way forward. Demotions are risky, though. You could end up with an employee who is even...

Maximum PTO Accrual Letter

Maximum PTO Accrual Letter

Encouraging employees to use their vacation days can feel strange. After all, nobody wants to leave themselves under-staffed and the rest of their team over-worked. On the other hand, what if employees rarely ever, or even never, take time off? That’s been a question facing business owners this year, as vacation plans were delayed, then cancelled, and PTO built up like never before.One problem is, PTO payout laws can turn unused PTO into an unwanted financial liability. There’s also a risk of schedule chaos down the line as everyone tries to use their days up at once. Most worrying of all is that employees who go too long without a break, even by choice, risk ending up disengaged and burned out. Download Sample Maximum PTO Accrual Letter...

How Long to Keep Payroll Records

How Long to Keep Payroll Records

Running a business, you know that compliance isn’t just about being compliant—you also need to prove it. You never know when the IRS, the DOL or the EEOC will demand to see your paperwork, which is why it’s so important to retain payroll records. To make things more complicated, each agency has its own rules for which documents you have to keep and for how long. The good news is, you don’t have to buy more filing cabinets. HR software can automatically store everything you need, with the added benefit of simplifying the whole payroll process. Why You Need to Retain Payroll Records At a federal level, you’re keeping payroll records primarily for three agencies: The IRS The Department of Labor (Wage and Hour Division) The EEOC These...