Minimum Wage by State and 2021 Increases
Minimum Wage by State and 2021 Increases

Minimum Wage by State and 2021 Increases

Changes to minimum wages in 2021 are here.

For many medium-to-small sized organizations, managing the myriad of federal compliance regulations is a top challenge. In fact, a recent Paycor survey found that 42% of organizations have negative feelings about their compliance management practices. In most instances, compliance management falls squarely on HR’s shoulders, and with limited resources and understaffed departments, keeping up with the many changes that continue to impact the current landscape is a tall task. That challenge is becoming even more daunting with the recent rise in local and state mandates for regulations like paid sick leave, state tax changes, pay equity laws and minimum wage increases.

In 2021, more than twenty states will increase their minimum wages for workers. Most of these changes are effective January 1, 2021, though states including Connecticut, Nevada and Oregon will see increases later in the year. Florida will join them in September, thanks to a ballot measure passed on Election Day 2020.

To ensure your organization is aware of the latest minimum wage requirements, Paycor has created a breakdown by state.

State  2020 Minimum Wage  2021 Minimum Wage 
Alabama  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Alaska  $10.19  $10.34 
Arizona  $12.00  $12.15 
Arkansas  $10.00  $11.00 
California   $13.00  $14.00* 
Colorado  $12.00  $12.32 
Connecticut  $12.00  $13.00 (effective 8/1/21) 
Delaware  $9.25 $9.25 
Washington D.C.  $15.00  $15.00 
Florida  $8.56  $10.00 (effective 9/30/21) 
Georgia  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage.)  $5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage) 
Hawaii  $10.10  $10.10 
Idaho  $7.25  $7.25 
Illinois  $10.00  $11.00 
Indiana  $7.25  $7.25 
Iowa  $7.25  $7.25 
Kansas  $7.25  $7.25 
Kentucky  $7.25  $7.25 
Louisiana  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Maine  $12.00  $12.15 
Maryland  $11.00  $11.75** 
Massachusetts  $12.75  $13.50 
Michigan  $9.65  $9.87
Minnesota  $10.00  $10.08*** 
Mississippi  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Missouri  $9.45  $10.30 
Montana  $8.65  $8.75 
Nebraska  $9.00  $9.00 
Nevada  $8.00  $8.75 (effective 7/1/21)**** 
New Hampshire  $7.25)  $7.25 
New Jersey  $11.00  $12.00***** 
New Mexico  $9.00  $10.50 
New York  $11.80  $12.50****** 
North Carolina  $7.25  $7.25 
North Dakota  $7.25  $7.25 
Ohio  $8.70  $8.80 
Oklahoma  $7.25  $7.25 
Oregon  $12.00  $12.75 (effective 7/1/21)******  
Pennsylvania  $7.25  $7.25 
Rhode Island  $10.50  $11.50 
South Carolina  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
South Dakota  $9.30  $9.45 
Tennessee  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Texas  $7.25  $7.25 
Utah  $7.25  $7.25 
Vermont  $10.96  $11.75 
Virginia  $7.25  $7.25 
Washington  $13.50  $13.69 
West Virginia  $8.75  $8.75 
Wisconsin  $7.25  $7.25 
Wyoming  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the Federal minimum wage.)  $5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage) 


$14.00 rate is for California employers with 26 or more employees. Employers in California with 25 or less employees have a minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. For local minimum wage rules, see our guide to California Minimum Wage by City.

**$11.75 applies to Maryland employers with 15 or more employees. Employers in Maryland with 14 of fewer employees must pay a minimum wage of $11.60 per hour.

***$10.08 rate is for large employers in Minnesota (with annual gross revenues of at least $500,000). Small employers have a minimum wage of $8.21 per hour.

****$8.75 is for Nevada employees who are offered health insurance. Nevada employees who are not offered health insurance must receive $9.75 per hour.

*****$12.00 applies to New Jersey employers who are non-seasonal and with 6 or more employees. Seasonal employees and those working for business who employ 5 or fewer employees must receive $11.00 per hour.

******The increased New York State minimum wage is effective 12/31/2020. Statewide minimum wages apply in areas that are not governed by a higher, local minimum wage ordinance. New York City and Portland Metro are examples of areas—like California—which have local minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum.

You can find minimum wages for tipped employees, here.

For nearly 30 years, Paycor has been guiding our clients through big changes to federal, state and local taxes as well as compliance. Check out our Resource Center for the latest compliance updates, industry trends, thought leadership and best practices to help organizations achieve their vision and reach their potential.

Paycor is not a legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor. All communication from Paycor should be confirmed by your company’s legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor before making any decisions.

Payroll and Tax Expertise

Our expertise goes far beyond minimum wage. From recruiting and onboarding to people management, compliance and more, we provide technology and expertise to help businesses solve problems and grow. How can we help your organization? Take a guided tour of our most popular solutions to find out.

Take Tour

More to Discover

Employment at Will Laws by State

Employment at Will Laws by State

Unlike most nations, the US labor law heavily favors employers. Employment is generally ‘at will’, and can therefore be terminated at any time. There is usually no burden on employers to prove “just cause”—they simply have to avoid discriminatory or illegal action. However, many states do apply important exemptions.To visualize these difference, we’ve created a map detailing at-will employment laws across the US.Here are at-will employment rules by state broken down in a helpful table. State Public Policy Exemption Covenant of Good Faith Implied Contract Exception Alabama No Yes Yes Alaska Yes Yes Yes Arizona Yes Yes Yes Arkansas Yes Yes Yes California Yes Yes Yes Colorado Yes Yes Yes Connecticut Yes Yes Yes Delaware Yes Yes No Florida...

Emergency COVID Leave Request Form

Emergency COVID Leave Request Form

Businesses are working overtime to create safe workplaces, but when a COVID surge hits your community, there’s only so much you can do. Employees may suddenly require time off—to isolate, care for their children or quarantine, if instructed to do so by local authorities.In these cases, employees will qualify for Emergency Sick Leave and Emergency FMLA, as established back in March by the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). Download COVID-Related Leave Request Form Emergency Leave for COVID The FFCRA applies to companies with 500 employees or fewer, and offers: Extended Paid Sick Leave Two weeks (up to 80 hours) at 100% of regular salary (up to $511 daily and $5,110 total) if an employee is … Quarantined (ordered by...

Employee Vaccination Policy Template

Employee Vaccination Policy Template

Employers have a responsibility for the health and safety of their employees, but is it their place to enforce mandatory vaccinations? And is that even legal? Every year, employers ask these very questions and in industries like healthcare, the stakes couldn’t be higher. Now is the time to think about creating an employee vaccination policy—here’s everything you need to know. Download Employee Vaccination Policy Template Can Employers Make a COVID Vaccine Mandatory? The reality is, at this stage we don’t know which vaccines will be released on the market first—there are big questions to be answered about how widely available vaccines will be, their cost and their effectiveness. It may be some time until a vaccine is freely available to...

Webinar: Getting it All Done: 6 Compliance Issues your HR Department Must Embrace - 12/31 @11AM ET

Webinar: Getting it All Done: 6 Compliance Issues your HR Department Must Embrace - 12/31 @11AM ET

For HR departments to avoid costly errors and fines, there are 6 areas of compliance they need to consistently follow. During this webinar, we’ll breakdown each area and provide actionable steps to take to gain visibility as a strategic HR leader at your organization.Speaker: Lori Kleiman Lori Kleiman is a business expert with more than 25 years of experience advising companies on HR issues. Her background as a human resources professional and consultant gives her unique insight on how HR professionals and executives can work together effectively to achieve business goals. Her programs are designed to provide critical HR updates and best practices to small businesses. In addition, she is has served as adjunct faculty member at a number...